Arts & Entertainment Guide

From city-wide events to pocket museums, there’s no doubt that Philly’s got culture and a variety of ways to immerse yourself in it.

Arts & Culture

Whatever your art interests, they can likely be found in Philly, a hotbed of diverse cultures and mediums. Here are some sources that cover a wide range of genres to help get you started.

Photo © R. Kennedy for GPTMC

Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance / philaculture.org

Philadelphia Academy of the Fine Arts / pafa.org

Philadelphia International Festival of the Arts / pifa.org

Fringe Festival / livearts-fringe.org

Art for the Cash Poor / inliquid.org

First Person Arts / firstpersonarts.org

Theater

Where’s the oldest theater in America? Philadelphia, of course! On any given night you can find a range of theatrical performances in the region. With so many groups and locations, be sure to experience theater while you’re in the city.

Photo © G. Widman for GPTMC

Walnut Street Theatre / walnutstreettheatre.org

Theatre Alliance of Greater Philadelphia / theatrealliance.org

Philadelphia Theater / philadelphia-theater.com

Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts / annenbergcenter.org

DIY

If you think making art is more exciting than seeing it, try some of these places for cool, unique experiences.

Photo © G. Widman for GPTMC

First Person Arts Story Slams / firstpersonarts.org

Fleisher Art Memorial / fleisher.org

The Clay Studio / theclaystudio.org

Open Mics / openmicphiladelphia.com

Heavy Hitters

When your friends from home ask what you’ve seen in Philly, these are the places they’ll be expecting. Don’t miss these staples of the city.

Photo © G. Widman for GPTMC

Philadelphia Orchestra / philorch.org

Philadelphia Museum of Art / philamuseum.org

Franklin Institute / fi.edu

Kimmel Center / kimmelcenter.org

Longwood Gardens / longwoodgardens.org

Elfreth’s Alley / elfrethsalley.org

Philadelphia Zoo / philadelphiazoo.org

National Constitution Center / constitutioncenter.org

Firsts

Photo © B. Krist for GPTMC

All of these special events happen every month and typically involve lots of free activities. They are well-attended and well-liked by the locals.

First Friday in Old City / visitphilly.com

First Friday on the Main Line / firstfridaymainline.com

First Friday in Doylestown / firstfridaydoylestown.com

First Sundays at the Philadelphia Museum of Art / philamuseum.org

Music & Venues

Photo © G. Widman for GPTMC

For many artists, Philadelphia is a popular stop on the concert circuit. From commercial monsters to intimate local favorites, the city is never in short supply of venues to house its constantly evolving music scene.

Electric Factory / electricfactory.info / 215.627.1332

Festival Pier and Great Plaza at Penn’s Landing / livenation.com / 215.569.9400

Theatre of the Living Arts / livenation.com / 215. 922.1011

Tower Theatre /livenation.com/ 610.352.2887

Trocadero Theatre / thetroc.com / 215.922.6888

World Café Live / worldcafelive.com / 215.222.1400

Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts / annenbergcenter.org / 215.898.3910

Johnny Brenda’s / johnnybrendas.com / 215.739.9684

NorthStar / northstarbar.com / 215.787.0488

Kung Fu Necktie / kungfunecktie.com / 215.291.4919

First Unitarian Church / philauu.org/page/concerts / 215.563.3980

Buy tickets (without the surcharge!) in person:

Live Nation Box Office / 111 Presidential Blvd., Bala Cynwyd

AKA Music / 27 N. 2nd St.

Or online:

R5 Productions / r5productions.com

TicketWeb / ticketweb.com

Philly.com / tickets.philly.com

Resources

Photo © R. Kennedy for GPTMC

Campus Philly / campusphilly.org

Independence Visitor Center / independencevisitorcenter.com

Visit Philly / visitphilly.com

Twitter: campusphilly
HCA Billboard