Loading Events

Home > Explore Philly > Calendar > Ax/Mozart Piano Concerto No. 14

Ax/Mozart Piano Concerto No. 14

October 15 @ 8:00 pm - 10:30 pm | The Philadelphia Orchestra


The Philadelphia Orchestra

Yannick Nézet-Séguin Conductor
Emanuel Ax Piano

Hunt Climb—World Premiere—Philadelphia Orchestra Commission
Mozart Piano Concerto No. 14, K. 499
Brahms Serenade No. 2

Mozart was the greatest pianist of his time, so it is only appropriate that the legendary Emanuel Ax join Yannick and the Orchestra to interpret his Piano Concerto No. 14. This spellbinding work is intriguingly set up by the world premiere of Jessica Hunt’s Climb, a letter-through-time to Beethoven expressing her gratitude for his work. The performance concludes with Brahms’s celebrated Serenade No. 2. Brahms first shared the completed work with Clara Schumann who delighted in the serenade and played through her favorite passages at the piano again and again.

Please note: All Digital Stage events begin with a performance premiere, streaming in real time. Following the performance premiere, the concert will be available for ticket holders to watch on demand for 72 hours.